← Journal

High Protein Water in India: Which Bottle Has the Most Protein?

Oct 25, 2026 · Team SWÆT

High protein water in India carries 10 g to 24 g of protein per pack. FSSAI lets a drink claim "high protein" at 10% of the protein RDA per 100 ml, 10% per 100 kcal, or 20% per serving. Among 500 ml bottles we checked, SWÆT (SWAET) protein water has the most protein, 24 g. Per rupee, Aquatein wins.

What counts as "high protein" water in India?

In India, "high protein" is a regulated nutrient claim. FSSAI's Advertising and Claims Regulations allow it on a liquid that provides at least 10% of the protein RDA per 100 ml, or 10% per 100 kcal, or 20% per serving. "Source of protein" sits at half those levels: 5% per 100 ml, 5% per 100 kcal, or 10% per serving.

The thresholds sit in Schedule I of the FSSAI Advertising and Claims compendium (2022); the per-serving routes were added by an amendment dated 13 December 2022. The RDA in question is the current ICMR figure, which the ICMR-NIN brief note (2020) puts at 54 g a day for an adult man and 45.7 g for an adult woman.

Using the 54 g reference, "high protein" means at least 5.4 g per 100 ml, or 5.4 g per 100 kcal, or 10.8 g per serving. The structure mirrors the Codex guidelines for nutrition claims (1997). The routes are joined by "or"; how a business applies them on pack is for its regulatory adviser, and this is a reading of the public rule, not legal advice.

The catch: any drink that is mostly protein and water clears the per 100 kcal route, because almost nothing else in the bottle carries calories; every product here with a published calorie count does, including Amul's 10 g can. The per 100 ml route is harder: a 500 ml bottle needs 27 g, and no 500 ml bottle we checked gets there; only SUPR's denser 330 ml bottle clears it. The rule separates protein water from flavoured water, not a 10 g bottle from a 24 g bottle. For that, read the grams.

Which protein waters have the most protein per 500 ml?

Among the 500 ml bottles we could verify in India, SWÆT has the most protein at 24 g, followed by Not Rocket Science at 22 g, Aquatein Pro at 21 g and Aquatein's own-store bottle at 18 g. SUPR packs 24 g into a 330 ml bottle, the highest concentration of any, and Amul's 250 ml can holds 10 g.

The table ranks every Indian protein water we could verify on 25 October 2026 by protein per pack, with per 100 ml and per 500 ml columns so that different sizes read fairly.

Brand and pack Protein per pack Protein per 100 ml Per 500 ml equivalent Protein source Where we found it
SWÆT, 500 ml bottle 24 g 4.8 g 24 g Whey protein isolate getswaet.com
SUPR Water, 330 ml bottle 24 g 7.3 g 36.4 g Whey protein isolate Tata 1mg; Amazon 24-pack
Not Rocket Science, 500 ml bottle 22 g 4.4 g 22 g Whey protein isolate Own site, Amazon; quick commerce per launch coverage
Aquatein Pro, 500 ml bottle 21 g 4.2 g 21 g Whey protein isolate Tata 1mg; not on aquatein.com
Aquatein, 500 ml bottle 18 g 3.6 g 18 g Pea and rice protein isolate aquatein.com
Amul Protein Water, 250 ml can 10 g 4.0 g 20 g (two cans) Whey protein isolate Amazon third-party sellers
Be Brawn, can (size not stated) 10 g (Virgin Mojito; others not stated) Not stated Not stated Whey protein isolate bebrawn.in, sold out

By grams per pack, SWÆT and SUPR tie at 24 g, and SWÆT is the only 500 ml bottle at that level. By grams per millilitre, SUPR wins at 7.3 g per 100 ml, though its 330 ml bottle is marketplace-only and its own store lists every multipack as unavailable (Tata 1mg, 2026; SUPR, 2026).

Amul's June 2025 launch coverage described a 500 ml bottle (FoodTech Network, 2025), but the product on sale is a 250 ml can at 10 g per can and 4 g per 100 ml (Amazon.in, 2026). Aquatein's own site now sells only the 18 g pea and rice bottle (Aquatein, 2026); the 21 g whey Aquatein Pro survives on Tata 1mg (2026). For the wider category, start with our guide to protein water in India, then the best protein water in India round-up.

Whey protein water or plant-based protein water: which should you pick?

Most protein water in India is whey protein isolate in water: SWÆT, Not Rocket Science, SUPR, Aquatein Pro, Amul and Be Brawn all use it. Aquatein's current own-store bottle is the exception, built on pea and rice protein isolates and labelled lactose-free and veg. Pick whey for grams per bottle; pick pea and rice if you avoid dairy entirely.

Whey protein isolate is milk protein with most of the lactose and fat removed, which is why SWÆT lists 0 g fat, calls itself lactose friendly and still carries a "contains milk" line. It is vegetarian, not vegan, and may contain soy and nuts. The plant bottle trades grams for other things: Aquatein's 18 g comes with 3 g of prebiotic fibre and electrolytes at 78 kcal.

What else is in the bottle varies more than the protein source. SWÆT keeps to five ingredients: whey protein isolate, citric acid, nature-identical flavour, monk fruit and sodium benzoate. Not Rocket Science adds 1,300 mg of electrolytes, zinc and B vitamins (Not Rocket Science, 2026; Amazon.in, 2026); SUPR adds BCAAs and two colours; Amul's label lists two preservatives and colour 122.

How many calories are in protein water?

Protein water in India runs from 40 kcal for Amul's 250 ml can to 130 kcal for SUPR's 330 ml bottle. Per 500 ml bottle the spread is 78 kcal (Aquatein) to 115 kcal (Not Rocket Science), with SWÆT at 96 kcal. Nearly all of it is the protein itself; none of these bottles adds sugar.

Brand and pack Calories per pack Calories per 100 ml Sweetener on label
Amul Protein Water, 250 ml can 40 kcal 16 kcal Sucralose
Aquatein (pea and rice), 500 ml 78 kcal 15.6 kcal Sucralose (955)
Aquatein Pro (whey), 500 ml 92.5 kcal 18.5 kcal Sucralose (E955)
SWÆT, 500 ml 96 kcal 19.2 kcal Monk fruit
Not Rocket Science, 500 ml 107 kcal to 115 kcal by flavour 21 kcal to 23 kcal Erythritol and steviol glycosides
SUPR Water, 330 ml 130 kcal 39.4 kcal Sucralose

SWÆT's 96 kcal (96.44 kcal on the label) comes almost entirely from its 24 g of protein, with 0.11 g carbohydrate, 0 g fat and 0 g added sugar. Not Rocket Science's range runs by flavour, 107 kcal for Mango Orange to 115 kcal for Lemon Lime (FoodTechBiz, 2026).

Which protein water gives the most protein per rupee?

Aquatein. Its 18 g pea and rice bottle costs ₹129, about ₹7.17 per gram of protein, and the whey Aquatein Pro on 1mg works out to ₹5.38 to ₹6.36 per gram. SWÆT at ₹200 MRP is ₹8.33 per gram, falling to ₹6.67 on a 12-bottle pack. Amul's ₹119 can is the dearest at ₹11.90 per gram.

Not Rocket Science sits at ₹9.05 per gram at ₹199, or ₹7.24 in its 24-pack; SUPR at ₹7.46 per gram for a single bottle on 1mg, or ₹11.28 in the Amazon 24-pack. Prices are as seen on 25 October 2026; Amul's MRP is not printed on any listing we could open (Amazon.in, 2026). Powder is still cheaper per gram: a 2 kg tub of MuscleBlaze Biozyme Performance Whey at ₹6,338 for 52 servings of 25 g works out near ₹4.88 per gram (HealthKart, 2026).

Does SWÆT count as high protein water?

On our reading of FSSAI's arithmetic, using the 54 g adult RDA, yes, on two of three routes; which RDA figure a brand must print against is for its regulatory adviser to confirm. SWÆT's 24 g in 500 ml is 4.8 g per 100 ml, short of the 5.4 g per 100 ml line, but it delivers about 25 g per 100 kcal against a 5.4 g requirement and 44.44% of the adult RDA per bottle against a 20% per-serving requirement.

Applied evenly, the same arithmetic makes most competitors "high protein" too: Not Rocket Science at 19 g per 100 kcal and 40.7% of RDA per bottle, Aquatein's 18 g bottle at 23 g per 100 kcal and 33.3%, SUPR on all three routes including 7.3 g per 100 ml, and Amul on the per 100 kcal route only against the 54 g figure, since 10 g is 18.5% of it (against the 45.7 g adult-woman RDA it would clear 20% per serving too). The grams, millilitres and rupees tell you more than the label phrase.

SWÆT's own numbers: 24 g whey protein isolate per 500 ml, 96 calories, 0 g added sugar with monk fruit, 0.11 g carbohydrate, 0 g fat, 275 mg sodium, identical across Mango, Blueberry and Bubblegum, ₹200 a bottle or ₹160 at twelve or more. Where others win: Aquatein on cost per gram, SUPR on protein per millilitre, Not Rocket Science on electrolytes and quick-commerce reach, Amul on price per can.

Frequently asked questions

What is high protein water?

High protein water is a clear, ready-to-drink mix of water and protein, usually whey protein isolate, with enough protein to meet a regulator's "high protein" threshold. Under FSSAI rules that means at least 10% of the protein RDA per 100 ml, 10% per 100 kcal, or 20% per serving. Indian products range from 10 g to 24 g.

Is whey protein water better than plant protein water?

Whey protein water gives you more grams per bottle today: 21 g to 24 g in the 500 ml whey bottles we checked, against 18 g in Aquatein's pea and rice bottle. Plant protein water suits anyone avoiding dairy entirely. Whey isolate is low in lactose but still contains milk, so SWÆT is vegetarian and lactose friendly, not vegan.

What is water based protein?

Water based protein is protein you drink dissolved in water rather than milk: either ready-to-drink protein water such as SWÆT, Not Rocket Science or Aquatein, or a clear whey isolate powder you stir into water yourself. SUPR, for example, now sells a clear whey powder box at 15 g per scoop alongside its 330 ml bottles.

Are the calories in protein water lower than a protein shake?

Usually, yes. A 500 ml protein water in India carries 78 kcal to 115 kcal, and SWÆT's bottle is 96 kcal for 24 g of protein. A whey shake lands near 120 calories with water or 240 with milk for a similar protein dose. The gap is the carbohydrate and fat in a powder scoop, plus the milk.

Does flavored protein water contain sugar?

Not in any bottle whose label we could read. Each one declares zero sugar or no added sugar and gets its sweetness from a sweetener instead: sucralose in Amul, Aquatein and SUPR, erythritol with steviol glycosides in Not Rocket Science, and monk fruit in SWÆT. Be Brawn does not publish its sweetener online.


Written by Team SWÆT. Last updated 25 October 2026. Sources linked inline. General information, not medical or dietary advice.

If price decides it, our protein water price in India guide works the cost per gram for every bottle and powder we could verify. If grams per 500 ml decide it, the SWÆT protein water collection has Mango, Blueberry and Bubblegum at ₹200 a bottle, delivery free from ₹999.